top of page
  • Writer's pictureMuhammed Luqman O P

The Merboy on the Beach



I was watching the calming beauty of Perumathura beach for the first time when my eyes suddenly fell on a unique scene, something resembling a mermaid child lying on the sand at one end close to the waves! For a while, I was surprised but it did not take much moments to realize the obvious fact that it must be a human child lying on the beach giving force on his elbows, focusing on something but held his legs closer enough without moving, that actually give an impression of a tail of a mermaid. I thought of capturing this fascinating pose of that kid against the setting of the sun in the sea in my phone camera and I moved closer. I took a perfect click and moved further to dig out what exactly he is doing. As I had sensed, he was not idly lying on the sand like that own one’s mattress but was in fact on a serious mission. I did not disturb him and patiently waited to find out what he is going to catch using the thread he released tied from the chappal that he was holding. Gotcha, he trapped what he wanted; a small sea crab using a mere plastic thread! He then felt my presence as his attention spanned over to the surroundings. I asked him about how and why he did it as it was a small crab, I was sure he will not take it home. He told me he is not going to do anything with the crab and is about to release it. It was a fun time with the sea creature, trapping it from its hole and releasing it back. I did not understand the logic behind it but thought of my childhood and mischiefs I have done as a child. After all, he did not hurt the crab. I showed him the pictures I took of him and asked his permission if I can keep. He was more than happy and posed to capture the crab he caught with his sophisticated technique. Interestingly, I met my merboy again at my first Educare class, he was excited to be my student and desperately wanted his friends to see the picture I shot of him.

7 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page