top of page
  • Writer's pictureMuhammed Luqman O P

Return and After


Upon my return from Perumathura, I secured a general ticket for the Arunai Express, a long-distance train originating from Thiruvananthapuram and reaching Thrissur by night. The general compartment, given its extensive route towards northeast India, was notably congested, rendering the journey physically taxing with limited seating opportunities. Subsequently, from Thrissur, I opted for a KSRTC bus, conveniently passing close to my hometown, where my uncle picked me up, facilitating my return home in the early morning of the subsequent day. Despite the rigours of travel, my commitment to participate in the Bukhari Knowledge Festival remained unwavering. My presentation on "Muslim Fisherfolk of Kerala: Faith, Community, and Tensions" was scheduled for the afternoon. To adequately prepare, I prioritized essential rest, ensuring optimal articulation of insights gained through my Gram Fellowship and ethnographic study within the fisherfolk community at Perumathura. This focused preparation not only enhanced the academic depth of my discourse, extending beyond theoretical readings and scholarly interactions but also garnered favourable feedback, affirming the impact of my on-field experiences at my Gram village.

34 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page