top of page
  • Writer's pictureMuhammed Luqman O P

Day 21 - Farewell to Perumathura



Waking up with a heavy heart on the last day of my fellowship, I contemplated whether I would ever return to Perumathura. My students at Imdadiya also shared their sorrow about my departure. During my morning class with them, I consoled them, expressing my own sense of loss and promising to stay in touch. Desiring to bid farewell to my Educare students as well, I called Sajid to inquire. He informed me that students were given an extra day off for their winter break and expressed gratitude for my service, urging me to keep in touch.


To ease the melancholy, I visited the beach to collect shells as requested by my younger sister for an art project. The sea, appearing uniquely green, provided solace as I reflected on the valuable memories and lessons from Perumathura. While gathering shells, I observed fishermen setting their nets for catamaran fishing and engaged in a brief conversation with them.


I called Harris Ahsani to say goodbye and to hand over the handwritten copy of Faqeeran Maala. Our emotional farewell led to his invitation for lunch at his home, which I gracefully declined, explaining that Ibrahimkka had already prepared a farewell feast for me. After lunch, I packed all my belongings, ensuring nothing was left behind. With an unconfirmed ticket, I shortlisted trains for travel with a general ticket. I bid farewell to all Usthads, students, and cook Ibrahimkka before heading to the bus waiting shed with my luggage, preparing to catch a bus to the railway station.


5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page