top of page
  • Writer's pictureMuhammed Luqman O P

Day 20 - Coastal Charms on a Christmas Day



I received a phone call from Habeebullah Sir in the morning, and our interesting conversation, spanning about half an hour, delayed my breakfast. Around 11, I made efforts to secure a Tatkal sleeper ticket for an evening train from Thiruvananthapuram to my district. However, the expected rush due to the festival holiday resulted in obtaining a less probable waiting ticket. As it was Christmas, there were no Educare classes. Thus, I decided to spend quality time with Imdadiya students, teaching them basic mathematics lessons and tricks.


After lunch, journalist Noushad called, expressing his arrival at his native place and eagerness to meet me. We met at the Ottappana bus waiting shed and engaged in a detailed conversation covering topics such as Perumathura's historical links with Cheraman Perumal, social divisions and discrimination, and the controversial vellippanam murder that exacerbated tensions between fisherfolk and others. Noushad recommended that I speak to Abdul Vahid Labba to gain further insights into these issues and the fisherfolk community.


Noushad mentioned that Christian fishermen often take their families to sea on their boats for a ride. Although it is against the law, I called Harris Ahsani to inquire about joining such a boat for a sea journey. However, he informed me that these trips are private family affairs and outsiders are not typically allowed.


Later, at the beach, I observed the lively scenes of families enjoying the holiday evening, with children playing and bathing in the waves. I joined some kids in flying kites, testing my skills in kite flying. After witnessing one of the most beautiful sunsets of my life, I went for prayers at Central Juma Masjid with the hope of meeting its secretary, Abdul Vahid Labba. Our conversation, which lasted about two hours, covered topics such as fishing in the past and present, discrimination, tensions, conflicts, the mosque mahallu system, and the future of Perumathura. The deep conversation made me lose track of time, and I became late for dinner.

3 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page