top of page
  • Writer's pictureMuhammed Luqman O P

Day 19 - A Memorable Christmas Eve




Jameela Itha kindly called me in the morning and offered the chapatis and egg curry she had prepared for my breakfast. After savoring this delightful meal, I prepared to shift back to Imdadiya as it was set to reopen after a brief break. Upon my arrival, Ustads and some students had already returned, bringing along snacks from their homes as a thoughtful gesture.


My next task involved assisting the Snehatheeram team with PSC registration at the L.P school, a commitment that extended into the evening. I left only when Ashkar Kabeer, the writer, and vlogger, informed me of his arrival at Perumathura. He graciously picked me up on his scooter, and our first stop was Noufal's house, the son of Rahoof Sir, a retired and longstanding school teacher in Perumathura. Over coffee, they shared valuable insights into the transformation of the nearby harbor and the educational challenges within the fisherfolk community. Noufal then took us to see his buffalos cooling off along the banks of Kadinamkulam backwater, providing detailed information about animal husbandry and dairy farming in Perumathura. Ashkar and I engaged in a productive academic discussion while watching fishermen on catamarans catching fish, enriching my understanding for the scheduled talk on Muslim fisherfolk at BKF.


Later, we ventured to Mariyanadu, a nearby Christian-populated village, to experience a proper Christmas Eve celebration. The shore of the sea at Mariyanadu transformed into a colorful carnival ground, filled with people in festive vibes, dancing to carols and songs played by DJs. Our highlights included witnessing Mariyanadu's main Christmas attractions: the floating Christmas tree and Christmas crib in the middle of the sea.


4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page