top of page
  • Writer's pictureMuhammed Luqman O P

Day 18: Volunteering and a missed Sea Journey

Waking up to a sense of relief, I felt fully recovered. My mom, initially tense, found solace in knowing my well-being. Jameela Itha kindly prepared tea, pappad, and mung beans curry and asked if i want lunch, though I opted to dine out. Contacting Sajid about the Educare class, he encouraged me to attend, given my assurance of fitness. The LP school buzzed with activity, hosting both an NSS Christmas camp and a Public Service Commission exam registration camp by Snehatheeram.


Observing a college student from NSS camp cutting Tuna for lunch, I proceeded to the sixth standard to teach Simple Present tense in the Educare class. Post-lesson, I participated in the PSC registration camp, understanding the procedures of one-time registration and application process. The excercise involving photographing and collecting signatures, proved time-consuming, extending my stay until 4 pm, with no break for lunch.


Afterward, Sajid and I, along with fellow volunteers, headed to Pozhikkara restaurant for a satisfying biryani, where I was introduced to Nadila, an MSc. Environmental Studies student, eager to share her study on Muthalappozhi harbour deaths. We then visited Snehatheeram members at Thanal, a community healthcare centre, and Madavila Juma Masjid, from where I learned about Perumathura's Tamil connection from Tamizh Mama.


Later in the night, Sajid informed me about a potential sea journey arranged by a boy named Hassan Basari. Despite their return from a funeral, Hassan Basari graciously took me to the harbour, where, due to various reasons like being Christmas Eve and Sunday having full moonlight, the anticipated sea fishing journey seemed unlikely. His mom shared the challenges faced by their co-worker's family after an untimely accident. Disheartened but understanding, I returned home, embracing uncertainty about the sea journey and rested.



5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page