top of page
  • Writer's pictureMuhammed Luqman O P

Day 16 : A Decisive Day - Talks, Transition, and Tidings

This day played a pivotal role in determining the conclusion of my stay in Perumathura. The organizing committee of the Bukhari Knowledge Festival, a prestigious academic event held in Kondotty, invited me to be a guest speaker and deliver a talk on the Muslim fisherfolk community. When I told them about my commitment here for a minimum of three weeks until December 26, they proposed arranging a slot for me on the final day, December 27. Considering this opportunity also aligned well with my plans to visit my hometown before returning to campus as I had to seed my bank account, I accepted. We talked and finalized the title and they released a poster with the title of my talk on the same day.


Given Imdadiya's temporary closure for three days, allowing students to spend Christmas with their families, I needed an alternative place to stay. Sajid suggested the Educare staff's cottage, unoccupied as Salman, the sole resident, was away for a four-day conference in Calicut. Although the Imdadiya students and Usthads left Perumathura around 4 in the evening, I couldn't immediately shift to the cottage as Sajid informed me he could only provide the key by 7. Despite the slightly dusty and untidy condition, I swiftly settled into the cottage and opted for dinner at a nearby hotel. Regrettably, the meal didn't satisfy my taste buds or my stomach, and my eyes started itching and reddening at night. Sajid called later in the evening, suggesting a late-night boat ride with a fisherman named Abu. Unfortunately, due to my health issues, I had to decline the enticing offer.




6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page