top of page
  • Writer's pictureMuhammed Luqman O P

Day 14 : Kambavala Chronicles - A Day Immersed in Traditional Fishing Wisdom

Today marked the most memorable day of my fellowship as I immersed myself in the live experience of Kambavala fishing, the most popular indigenous fishing method along the Kerala coast. The day began itself on a lively note, with our cook Imbrahimka requesting a ride on Hafiiz Usthad's scooter to the market for purchasing fish, as Hafiz Usthad was occupied with a class. This presented a unique opportunity for me to engage with the fish sellers at the Perumathura market, including a woman who told me about their commitment to selling freshly caught, non-iced fish known for its enhanced taste and heightened demand. 


Around noon, Harris Ahsani called informing me that Kambavala fishing, which is a rare occurrence these days, is happening in the seacoast near Muthalappozhi. I instantly got ready and went with Ahsani to witness this marvelous fishing technique. When we reached the coast, a large group of people of different age group was already pulling the rope of nets from two sides. Large Wooden Boats had already set the nets in a circular way and two men were deployed at two points in the waves to drag it closer to the sand from where many people jointly pulled the rope in unison chanting prayer chants and coastal folk chants. I and Ahsani also joined them and eventually we pulled a medium catch quite worth it for an off-season. There were different fishes including a huge king mackerel, ordinary mackerels, and many false pony and scad fishes. Within minutes it was auctioned and sold the catch for Rs. 5600. This firsthand experience of Kambavala fishing not only added depth to my understanding of traditional fishing practices but also contributed to a day filled with unique and enriching experiences in Perumathura. I wish i could share those video clips! 




6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page